How to know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp
For WhatsApp users, there are certain ways to find out if someone has blocked you in the instant messaging application. WhatsApp has been ambiguous in telling its users if they have been blocked, as it aims to maintain user privacy. The messaging app doesn’t explicitly tell you if someone has blocked you, but there are a couple of indicators to know if someone has blocked you. Here’s how to find out if you’ve been blocked.
Facebook, the owner of WhatsApp has settled down shows some indicators to check if someone has blocked you in the messaging application. However, keep in mind that these flags do not guarantee that a contact may have blocked you.
How to know if you have been blocked on WhatsApp
Checking Online / Last Seen Status
One of the easiest ways to check is by looking for your last seen or online status in the chat window. However, you may also not see your last viewed, as it may have been disabled from settings.
Checking profile picture
If someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, you may not be able to see their profile picture. However, if you can see the person’s profile picture and have been blocked, you may not be able to see their updated profile picture.
Send a message to the contact
If you send a message to the contact who has blocked you, you will only be able to see a single check mark in the message, as opposed to double check marks or blue double check marks (also known as read receipts).
Call the contact
Any attempt to call the contact may be unsuccessful. You will only see a call message when you make the call. However, it can also happen if the recipient of the call does not have an internet connection.
Creating a group on WhatsApp
If you try to form a group with a contact that you suspect may have blocked you, going through the process of forming the group will result in only you being in that group.