How to move WhatsApp groups to Signal

How to move WhatsApp groups to Signal

Going from WhatsApp to Signal is as easy as creating your profile on the latter by providing your phone number and then uninstalling the old application from your device. But moving WhatsApp and Signal chats is not possible natively. This could be one of the reasons why many users have become attached to the Facebook-owned app. However, there is a solution to move your WhatsApp groups to the Signal app by following a few simple steps. These are equally applicable for both Android and iOS users.

Note : Before starting this tutorial, it is important to note that the workaround only applies to WhatsApp groups to Signal. This does not allow you to move your chats from WhatsApp to Signal. It also cannot be used to move your existing WhatsApp group chats to the Signal app.

How to move WhatsApp groups to Signal

Below are the steps you can take on your Android phone or iPhone to move groups from WhatsApp to Signal. Make sure you have the latest version of the Signal app to ease the transition.

  1. Open the Signal app on your phone.

  2. Tap the three-dot menu available in the upper right corner of the screen in case you have an Android phone and then tap the New group option. If you have an iPhone, you can do this by tapping on the pencil icon at the top right of the screen.

  3. You can select some of your group members or press the button Skip button. You can add your group members at a later stage.

  4. Now, give your group a name. This could be the same name that you want to move from WhatsApp to Signal.

  5. Now you will be prompted with a popup dialog to invite friends via the link. Just click on the Enable and share link available in that pop-up box.

  6. This will bring up a menu that will allow you to find ways to share your group link. Choose Copy from that menu.

  7. Now, open the WhatsApp group that you want to move to Signal.

  8. Paste the group link you copied from Signal.

This will allow your WhatsApp group members to move to your newly created Signal group. Once all of your members have been moved to your Signal group, you can deactivate the link that you have enabled. This will help prevent strangers from joining your group.

hashantagari

hashan tagari Admin of technical hint. He writes about new technologies, smartphones, laptops, and technical hint content. He has frequently written about the Technology, smartphone, and PC industry and also has a knowledge of SEO. hashan is available at [email protected], so please send in your leads and tips.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *